Tambuwal Supports #EndSARS Movement

Tambuwal Supports #EndSARS Movement

Governor Aminu Waziri Tambuwal has described the dissolved Special Anti-Robbery Squad, SARS, and its successor Special Weapons and Tactics, SWAT, as being the same thing.

According to a statement by, Muhammad Bello, the Special Adviser to the Governor on Media and Publicity, the Governor made the comparison when he swore-in the Chairman and members of the Sokoto State Independent National Electoral Commission at the Government Houses in Sokoto.

Governor Aminu Waziri Tambuwal said although the effort of the government in disbanding the infamous SARS is commendable, President Muhammadu Buhari and the Inspector General of Police, Muhammad Adamu, should not be in a haste to put up another notorious body on Nigerians.

Instead, the governor suggested that the Inspector General should consult with Nigerians on what kind of police reform most suitable for the citizens and the country.

He said merely changing the name of SARs to SWAT is not the solution to the myriads of problems that the country has been facing.

The Governor then advised the President to recruit more people into Nigeria's security outfits, while also providing them with modern equipments and improved remuneration package.

Turning to the newly sworn-in Chairman and members of State Independent National Electoral Commission, the governor said their composition and selection was based on their proven integrity and unblemished records of service.

He urged them to come up with guidelines and time table for the conduct of local government elections to enable the state government determine when and how to conduct local government elections soon.

Tambuwal while congratulating them for their appointments, also charged them to uphold the trust reposed in them by being fair and just in the discharge of their duties.

The new officials include Chairman, Alhaji Aliyu Suleiman and five members: Muazu Garba Dundaye, Sidi Mukhtar Ibrahim, Umar Galadima Durbawa, Abubakar Haliru Dange and Alhaji Musa Illela; who will serve as Permanent Members of the commission.